Nicholson War Memorial, Leek

Battery Roll of Honour

Those of the Old Leek Battery who did not return home:-

Cpl H Bailey (MM)*, Gnr C O Ball*, Sgt G Bestwick*, Gnr T Cornes, Bdr H Crabtree*, Gnr A Danby, Dvr J Dean, Dvr W Doodson, Gnr S Eccles, Gnr F Gibson, Gnr J T James, Gnr P Kemp, Gnr W Lavery (DCM), Sgt R C Lawrence (MM), Lt G Lewthwaite (MC)*, Bdr R Marshall, Lt B Nicholson*, Gnr J Phillips*, Sgt P Pickford (MM)*, Cpl C Prime (MM)*, Gnr A Rowley, Gnr H Scott, Cpl G Smith, Sgt W Stevenson, Cpl T Watson
* Denotes listed on the Nicholson War Memorial, the remainder will be listed on other local village memorials from outside the immediate Leek District.
George Bestwickj
Charles Lewthwaite
Basil Nicholson
Sgt George Bestwick
Percy Pickford
Claude Prime
Sgt Percy Pickford, M.M.
Corporal Claude Prime, M.M.

Sgt Percy Pickford M.M.

Many thanks to the family of Percy Pickford for sharing this other image and the note and letter received from the King.


Home - The Memorial - The Fallen - Old Leek Battery - Sir Arthur Nicholson - Restoration - Archive -

Virtual Tour - Time Capsule - Gallery - Books - About Us - Contact Us - Links - Guestbook

The Nicholson War Memorial, Leek, Staffordshire

Website Designed and Built by Rob Povey